Testimonials

We receive many letters from the families we've served, thanking us for our caring ways during their time of loss. Their words warm our hearts, and speak to you of our professionalism, compassion, and the true value of the services we provide.

Jeremiah and the staff were extremely compassionate during this very difficult time for me and my family. They went beyond my expectations, considering the COVID environment and made everyone feel safe.

5 stars
Joseph June 17, 2022

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

After experiencing a terrible experience at another local funeral home, I called and spoke with Tara and Jeremiah Bullen, both were extremely understanding, compassionate, accommodating and helpful in what was a very difficult time. The staff were amazing as well, especially Jennifer Butchyk, who was also caring and helpful. Thank you for making a difficult time in our lives as easy and smooth as possible. We will forever be grateful!

5 stars
James June 17, 2022

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Thank you so very much for everything you did for my family!

5 stars
Madeline June 17, 2022

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Your funeral service and care was excellent! You cared about myself and family. Was attentive to our needs and showed compassion. My husband looked so good. Thank you!

5 stars
Carole June 17, 2022

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Everyone was kind and caring for this difficult time for our family. Thank you all!

5 stars
Bernadette June 17, 2022

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

I would just like to say thank you so much for doing such a wonderful job on helping me with everything. I will definitely recommend this funeral home.

5 stars
Marie June 17, 2022

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Thank you so much. The entire staff was so kind. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. You made a very painful situation bearable by your kindness. Thank you.

5 stars
Desiree June 17, 2022

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Very friendly and helpful with every part of the process concerning our loved ones remains. Thank you!

5 stars
Ismet June 17, 2022

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

My family and I cannot say enough positive remarks about the way we were treated. Jeremiah and Tara, went above an beyond our expectations along with the staff. They were wonderful, caring, and sincere individuals.

5 stars
Francine P

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Jeremiah and the entire staff were extremely kind, caring and compassionate.

5 stars
Agatha R

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Jeremiah and Tara were more than helpful. They made us feel like we are family. Christine was awesome too.

5 stars
Domenica I

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Jeremiah and Tara went above and beyond to support our family. We are so very grateful.

5 stars
Karen R

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Jeremiah and Tara went above to make sure our family's needs were met. Down to minor things and personal touches (hair dye, jewelry, soft tone make up). Christine made us feel as if we were family. Overall experience was top level. Highly Recommend.

5 stars
Gloria A

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Jeremiah Bullen and Tara were so caring and helpful. They took care of all of our needs.

5 stars
Julia C

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Thank you so much for making this difficult time helpful with making these arrangements. Our family is so grateful.

5 stars
Margaret R

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Mr. Bullen gave us his full attention and support. I did not feel like he was reciting a memorized script like another funeral home we had been to.

5 stars
Virginia V.

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Our family had received a great service from your staff, especially Jeremiah and Christine. From start to finish they had given their above and beyond care and attention to us. Highly recommended!

5 stars
Family of Ruben G.

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

The Funeral Director Jeremiah and staff made a very unpleasant situation bearable.

5 stars
Jackie C.

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Jeremiah was understanding and our experience was outstanding.

5 stars
Helen V.

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

My mom was on hospice and passed in my home. Jeremiah was professional, caring & compassionate. From picking up the remains to assisting us with the planning. He was patient and understanding of the situation and put up with all my families requests. I would recommend your funeral home without hesitation.

5 stars
Catherine M.

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Jeremiah and Daniela were extremely helpful and caring during this difficult time.

5 stars
Marcello P.

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Jeremiah and staff have been very accommodating, patient and helpful, during a time in our lives that we found ourselves lost in this process.

5 stars
Liz S.

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Jeremiah was wonderful, incredibly accommodating, patient, and understanding. Thank you for your kindness, understanding, and your professionalism.

5 stars
Carla P.

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Jeremiah provided outstanding service. He is an exceptional professional and truly works with human empathy. He is extremely knowledgeable and was kind and respectful at all times. The support staff was also very kind and helpful.

5 stars
April 2019 June 13, 2019

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

It’s hard to say you love a funeral. But I wish I could find the words to emphasize on just how peaceful my whole experience has been for the past few days regarding the repose of my dad. Every small detail was addressed —the presentation of my dad’s life while resting was exhibited in a way I will never forget. The professional staff and guidance of Jeremiah and Tara Bullen was exceptional, to say the least. The music, the lighting, the details... ALL of it...Final goodbyes are one of the hardest things to do -but, truthfully- the services of this funeral home will ease your pain. To the staff —-you did a great job with my dad —he looked exceptionally at peace —and I thank you for making this as pleasant as it could be.

5 stars
Camille April 11, 2018

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Dear Kevin, Thank you so much for everything you did. My Mom's service was perfect.

5 stars
Dawn

Michael Hegarty & John Vincent Scalia Home for Funerals and Cremation Services

Jeremiah, I want to thank you and your wonderful staff for providing us with a great service for my husband. Under these circumstances, you made this situation more bearable

5 stars
Kathryn

Dear Scalia Family, You are truly amazing people. At such a difficult time you all saw to it that every detail. Dad would have been so proud.

5 stars
Susan C. and Family

Dear Jeremiah, When I started this process, I expected to be met by someone who was desensitized to this experience, but instead you made the entire process more personal. Your work on the decoration and overall preparation will not be forgotten. Please know that you have made this painful time a bit easier on us, which is and will continue to be a consolation to us.

5 stars
Crystal A. January 01, 2016

You guys were great, really. Thank you!

5 stars
Dawn June 17, 2022

Thanks for to the incredible staff, you took our most heartbreaking situation and helped turn it into a loving tribute to my mom. You are all a credit to your profession and our family sincerely appreciates all that you have done. Thank you.

5 stars
Patti June 17, 2022

My experience was "simply the best", Jeremiah and Tara and the staff were wonderful, from start to finish. Will always recommend Michael Hegarty and John Vincent Scalia Funeral Home in Old Bridge and Staten Island.

5 stars
Lori June 17, 2022

Very helpful, caring for our family. Great people, answered all of our questions. Highly recommended.

5 stars
John June 17, 2022

Thank you for your assistance in our time of sorrow and need. You were more than helpful!

5 stars
Kelly June 17, 2022

Jeremiah and staff were compassionate and supportive every step pf the way.

5 stars
David June 17, 2022

From the first call of my husband's passing, Jeremiah and staff were extremely accommodating. They went above and beyond including acknowledgements for our family and friends.

5 stars
Rochelle June 17, 2022

The entire staff was excellent and helpful. There was never any pressure and plenty of time to make our decisions. Jeremiah and Tara were compassionate and caring.

5 stars
Kelly June 17, 2022

In this crazy world of COVID 19 my Mom's service was beautiful. The staff ans service was impeccable as always. Thank you for making a difficult time so easy on me and my family.

5 stars
Dawn R September 21, 2020

After the death of my husband in February the hospital asked what funeral home were we using. I had not made any plans, but my children and I decided to go to Hegarty & Scalia after leaving the hospital because of the convenient location and we had attended other funerals there. Jeremiah greeted us as we walked in and after sitting and speaking with him we knew we chose the right funeral home within a few minutes. His Compassion, sincerity and professionalism was above and beyond exceptional at this difficult time. We were treated like family and there was never any pressure. All of our questions and concerns were answered. After our meeting we walked out feeling very comforted. Jeremiah and staff were amazing and outstanding with arrangements and all details including the wake, church services and the heartwarming Veterans flag ceremony for my husband at the burial. We could not have asked for a more perfect funeral. It didn't end there. I was called a few days after by the funeral home ans asked how the family and I were doing and if there was anything else they could do for us. I have and will continue to highly recommend Hegarty & Scalia Home for Funerals. Family and friends are still calling and commenting that it was one of the nicest and heartwarming funerals they have attended. Thank you Jeremiah and Staff. Our hearts will always be grateful for your kindness and compassion. God Bless you all.

5 stars
Virginia A

Jeremiah and Tara were wonderful. They took great care of us in a very stressful and intense situation. He was beyond sensitive and I would highly recommend.

5 stars
Kristin V

Jeremiah was so nice and very respectful. Very attentive, we did not have to worry about anything. He worried about everything for us. We are so grateful and thankful.

5 stars
Joseph G

Jeremiah and Janine were so professional, caring, and attentive to all of my needs. It was a most difficult time losing my mom during this pandemic and each were so loving and genuine.

5 stars
Laura D

You made a very difficult process easy, personal and we felt your compassion towards the situation.

5 stars
Jennifer S

Very professional! Highly Recommended!

5 stars
Linda

Jeremiah and his wife were wonderful. They took great care of us in a very stressful, tense situation. He was beyond sensitive and I would highly recommend.

5 stars
Kristin V.

From the time I called Jeremiah from the hospital knowing I would be taking my Uncle off of Life Support, he was very compassionate, informative, and reassuring. I knew right away I called the right Funeral Home. I will refer them to my friends and family, and I am sure they won't be disappointed. Thank you Jeremiah.

5 stars
Patricia M.

Jeremiah treated us well. All employees were very kind and supportive to me and my family. Very Compassionate. We appreciate that and all their help so much. Thank you.

5 stars
Pamela Q.

Jeremiah and his staff were wonderful. They were supportive and caring throughout.

5 stars
Frank S.

The staff was amazing during a very difficult time. Jeremiah J. Bullen was great.

5 stars
Robert M.

Mr. Bullen was warm, friendly, and extremely helpful with my needs. Everything went smooth for me and my daughters.

5 stars
Tony R.

My family and I are so grateful and appreciated all the exceptional details, that went into not only the preparation of my sister's body, but the love and caring for our family time as we gathered together to Honor my sister's life and passing. Thank you.

5 stars
Sally M.

I met with Jeremiah a few days before my husband past away. He was so attentive to my needs he made the most life changing experience of my life endurable. I can not imagine how I would have made it through those initial days without him and the others were there by my side.

5 stars
Barbara S.

At our time of sorrow, Jeremiah and his staff were excellent!

5 stars
Service Held February 2019 February 28, 2019

I just wanted to say thank you for helping to make this experience go so smoothly. You managed to help make all the details work out so perfectly and I couldn't have held it together so well if you hadn't been there every step of the way. Thanks again.

5 stars
Lisa

Dear Jeremiah Thanks again to you, your wife Tara and staff for making things easier through this difficult time.

5 stars
Milagros July 07, 2016

Dear Kevin, Thank so very much for your kindness and professionalism while caring for my mother and all of us. May God bless you always. You are a very special person.

5 stars
Janice R and family

Words cannot express our gratitude to you both for your kindness and generosity during the most difficult time of our lives. It is so comforting to know there are such wonderful people like you taking care of people in time of need. Thank you again from the bottom of our hearts.

5 stars
Olivia